Public Relations is Not a Walk in the Park… Or a Kayaking Trip via @huffpostbiz #PR

Public Relations is Not a Walk in the Park… Or a Kayaking Trip

By Jennifer Nagy, President of jlnpr

A response to a MORE Magazine article called “10 Great Careers for Women Who Want a Life

“Yesterday, my fellow Huffington Post contributor and public relations professional Joelle Caputa shared an article on Facebook that she read on MORE Magazines website called “10 Great Careers for Women Who Want a Life.” One of the ten careers listed in this article was my field of choice, public relations also known as PR. While I was happy to see PR getting exposure as a great career, I did not agree with the articles assertion that PR is suitable for people who want to have a strong work/life balance.

To make matters worse, upon reading further, I discovered a profile that outlined what women could expect from a career in PR and why it was included on the list of the best careers for “women who want a life.” While I found the initial list misleading, the PR profile was downright insulting. It provides a completely unrealistic testimonial from a supposed PR professional who schedules her workweek around hikes and water kayaking trips. She says: “I do schedule 40 hours of work each week, but Im hired for the results I produce. If I produce those results quickly, I work less. I have complete freedom in terms of how I use my time.” She continues to say: “If youre passionate about your clients and their stories, the rest should fall into place.”

Speaking on behalf of the entire PR industry, “we object”!”

To read the rest of the article (and the reasons that I object to the MORE Magazine article), please visit The Huffington Post Business section: Public Relations is Not a Walk in the Park… Or a Kayaking Trip.

Leave a Reply

